Retweet (RT)

A Retweet is a re-posting of someone else’s Tweet. Twitter’s Retweet feature helps you and other quickly share that Tweet with all of your followers. Learn what Twitter has to say about retweeting.

1. Select the RT button.

Instantly share a Twitter account’s original tweet.

RT1

If you retweet someone you follow, it will be visible on your profile timeline. If you retweet someone you do not follow, it will be visible on both your home and profile timelines.

RT2

RT with comments

Some times, you might choose to add comments in addition to some one’s original tweet.

1. Select the Reply button.

RT3

2. Copy and paste the original tweet.

3. Add your comments and include “RT.”

Add your comments and include “RT” before the original tweet to indicate you are re-posting someone else’s content.

RT4

When published, it will look like:

RT5

Modified tweet (MT)

When you add your own copy to someone’s original tweet, you might exceed 140 characters. In order to accommodate your comments and maintain original context, a popular practice is to edit the original tweet but keep it’s integrity. MT communicates to your followers that you modified their original content.

1. Select the Reply button.

2. Copy and paste the original tweet.

3. Add you comments and include “MT.”

RT6

Learn more in Twitter’s Help Center.